Recipes

A new priced find: Breakfast Oatmeal Pizza

So this blog was started with the intention of me sharing my experiences about raising our ย high needs baby Munna. But of late it seems all my drafts have been about food and recipes! Well yes that’s what my life is about these days: feeding a highly active and unpredictable toddler who has the appetite of a ferocious dinosaur one day and goes on a complete hunger strike the next! And trying to be creative and proactive with the healthy eating to keep Baba and myself on board with healthy eating just adds on to it.

Anyhow getting to the point! A friend tagged me on Facebookย on one of those Tasty recipes (yeah you have surely seen one of those ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). After many failed attempts on those, I still thought to give it a shot (yup I am very brave that way :D). Surprisingly it turned out very well!! Without much ado, here’s the recipe with few of my tweaks:fotor_14612533949349.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup milk of your choice (I used Almond milk but you can use other nut milk or dairy milk as you like)fotor_146125333278713.jpg
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup or raw organic honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 banana
  • 3-4 drops vanilla essence
  • 1 apple or an extra banana for topping
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder (optional)
  • 1/3 cup Miessence Complete Protein Powder
  • Greek yogurt for serving
  • A small pizza pan or a pie pan

Method:

  1. Take all the ingredients in a bowl (except banana) and mix well.
  2. Once the batter is thoroughly mixed, mash in the banana and mix once again.
  3. Grease well all the sides of the pan you are going to bake in. I used a pie pan. Pour the batter into the pan making sure it’s evenly distributed.
  4. Top the batter with sliced banana or your choice of fruit. I used a peeled and cored apple just because I like the taste of baked apple.
  5. The original recipe called for baking at 220 degrees Centigrade for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. I baked a bit longer as I wanted the top to be a nice golden brown and a bit crispy. ย fotor_146125319554393.jpg

It was a hit with the whole family! Serve it with some vanilla and maple flavored yogurt ย or simply just top it with some maple syrup and it will just taste exquisite!

Munna usually doesn’t have much of an appetite in the morning so it kind of took me by surprise when he had quite a stomach full of this. Maybe because I got him thinking it was a cake :D. Munna is always for something new as long as it captures his interest.

As for Baba, his exact comments were, “this turned out pretty well.” I am sure he wasn’t lying ;).

6 thoughts on “A new priced find: Breakfast Oatmeal Pizza

  1. Don’t know what happend to mine, looked just lIke your picture…but was mushy, too much like oatmeal in a bowl…. threw it out!

    Like

    1. oh no! Maybe you baked it at too low a temperature? You should have tried baking a bit long till it formed a crust on the surface. I am going to make this again tomorrow as my little one loved it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. making this now and I thought 220F was really low, but I tried it anyway bc i had no idea otherwise! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Now I’m baking it at 430F for 20 mins…
    perhaps it would help to specify C or F in your recipe!
    thanks! looking forward to trying it in 20 mins ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

Leave a Reply

